Family RV Trip: Day 12

Roasting Marshmallows over a “Fire”
(I’m ashamed to even call that a fire)
(Mom and Ashley are the two in the photo here)

Yellowstone National Park.  A favorite in the country, as the oldest national park in the United States.

This is where we arrived today.  As with previous posts, I’ll post a separate one just on our main adventures in Yellowstone, leaving this post with everything extra that happened during the day today.   

Today we saw Old Faithful, and at long last drove over to Yellowstone Lake towards our campsite, which was in the Bridge Bay campground.  Yellowstone Lake is absolutely beautiful.  It was perfectly calm, with the Absaroka Mountains surrounding it in the distance.

Once we arrived at camp, we decided to cook dinner, and tonight had decided to have steaks on the grill.  However, it was not just any grill – tonight we decided to cook them over the fire!

I’m kind of a pyro – my friends can vouch for this – so I love bonfires and candles and basically anything that has a flame.  Actually, let me clarify:  I am not an actual pyro, as in a pyromaniac.  Rather, I enjoy fire and flames, and find them fascinating.  Note: This is also not the same as being as arsonist!  Arsonists maliciously set fire to things, pyros (as I’m defining them) enjoy fire.

Anyway, I built an amazing fire and cooked perfect steaks!  This is a huge accomplishment for me, as the last time I grilled (over a gas grill at home, years ago), I severely overcooked the steaks to the point where no one wanted to eat them.  After a great dinner, we decided to go outside to roast s’mores for dessert.  The fire was pitiful.  We didn’t want to add more wood (sadly!) because we were going to sleep soon, so we toasted our marshmallows over dying embers.  However, if you know how to make a perfectly golden brown marshmallow, you’ll know that it is the embers, and not the flame, that you want to slowly turn your marshmallow over, to prevent it from catching fire.  (My personal preference: toast it to a perfect gooey golden brown and then light it on fire and blow it out!  A perfect amount of warmth and gooeyness with a bit of crispiness!)

That night we went to the amphitheater at the campsite to hear a mini-presentation on the first settlers in Yellowstone and how they affected the Nez Perce Native Americans, the ones who were originally in this area.  It was quite interesting and informational, and still irks me to think that so many Native Americans were killed and displaced just because other people came in and claimed the land as their own.  (I understand our country would not be the same as it is now had history not happened the way it did, but it still bothers me with it’s injustice and seemingly unnecessary persecution.)

Finally, we went to bed, with me smelling like a bonfire.  Love it!

 

Comedy of the day:

 

Me: (to Ash)  “You don’t like bacon?!  What sort of weird alien person are you?!”

 

Katie:  “I think I’m going to wait to shower so my clothes don’t smell like bacon.”

Mom:  “Why?  That might smell good.”

Kate:  “Yeah, for bears!”

 

Leave a Reply

