An Instant of Perception

Falling Petals

Life seems boring sometimes, does it not?  It’s repetitive, redundant.  We fall into cycles in our lives that make it seem as though we’re doing the same thing every single day.

If you’ve never had this sensation, I applaud you!  For me, however, it seems to happen more often than I’d like.  This photo was taken last spring after I had finished class for the fourth day in a row that week.  It was the same class, the same time of day, and the same walk to and from my car.  There was nothing particular on my mind; I was just going through the motions of heading to the parking lot where my car was waiting for me, as I did every day.  

Suddenly, a breeze blew by, and I was shocked to find petals flying into my face. I was jolted into awareness and looked around me; gorgeous white petals were raining down from the trees!  I hadn’t even known there were trees there before, let alone that they had been blossoming!  In that instant, perception hit me like a slap in the face.  I couldn’t help but appreciate the beauty around me and wonder why I had never taken the time to truly see the exquisiteness of my surroundings before.

Nowadays, I make it a point – especially when I’m feeling as though I’m in a slump or an ongoing cycle – to look for something beautiful and unique around me.  It’s there.  Everywhere you go, you can find something to lift your spirits, whether it’s the splendor of nature (as Bill Atkinson captures), the smell of good food (or cooking it yourself), or the laugh of a child (such as that of baby Micah).  This will differ from person to person and can sometimes be difficult to find.  Lord knows I struggle with it myself sometimes.  Nonetheless, it’s there, and that instant when you suddenly become cognizant of your surroundings is one that can be meaningful in many ways.

The world around us is an incredible place, if only we can gain the perception and awareness to recognize and appreciate it instead of just letting it pass us by.

Leave a Reply

