Sunrises and Beginnings

Golden Sunrise

Sunrises always bring a sense of hope, of starting anew, of beginnings.  It’s the start of a new day, and the light and warmth from the sun seem to warm your soul as well as your body.

This photograph of a sunrise was taken at North Topsail Beach on Topsail Island, North Carolina.  I had researched the sunrise times online, and made it a point several times on my vacation to take a walk along the beach and observe the splendor of the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean.

At the moment this picture was taken, the sun had reached a point in the sky where it appeared to turn the ocean a rich gold.  The sight was mesmerizing, and I whipped out my camera in hopes of doing the scene justice.  Initially, I was disappointed to see that there was a man walking along the beach in front of me, and that he would surely be in the photo.  But upon reviewing the picture later, I found his presence to complete it.  The one trail of footprints from where he had walked demonstrate exactly how solitary the moment was, and how – despite being alone – he was walking forward, into the sunrise and into a new day.  

Watching a sunrise is an experience that gives you an inexplicable sense of peace.   Not many people are yet awake, all your worries from yesterday can disappear (if only for a few minutes), and you are filled with a sense of hope that anything can happen in the coming hours.  You are given a new beginning.

It’s fitting, then, that a sunrise is the first photo of this blog, is it not?!  This is the beginning for me, and I’m anxious and excited to see where it will lead.  In the meantime, I encourage you to observe a sunrise!

My friends and I made it a point, once a year, to gather in the park right before sun-up to take in the rising of the sun, the start of a new day.  You can do this, too.  Find out the sunrise time, unite your friends (or go alone), grab a blanket and a warm beverage of your choice, and head on out to a peaceful location.  It’s such an extraordinary sight to see, and something that happens every day, yet we rarely feel like dragging ourselves out of bed to view it.

If you need some more inspiration, check out these incredible sunrise photographs, compiled by Bill Jones.  Try your hand at your own photos by bringing your camera out as well!

To a beautiful sunrise and to new beginnings!

2 responses to “Sunrises and Beginnings

  1. Simple post but nice! I like that you hyperlinked to the informational website of how to find out the time of sunrise in your location.

  2. Thank you! Yes, that’s the website I’ve used many times. I’m glad to have linked it here, though, so now the next time I plan a sunrise-watch, I’ll have easy access to it myself!

Leave a Reply

